Summer Runnin’, Had Me a Blast

Not many things are better after a treacherous winter of training than the arrival of warmer weather. With the temperatures finally becoming a little more consistently higher, it’s time for people to start putting away their winter running socks for their summer ones.

If you’re wearing the same kind of running socks throughout the entire year when you’re living in an area with brutal winters, certain running socks can go a long way on your run depending on the season.

Summer is the season where less is better. Running pants are replaced with short shorts, and sweatshirts or long tees are replaced with no shirt at all or a sports bra. The last thing you want bringing you discomfort on a summer run is your socks. Sweaty feet and uncomfortable socks is a combination you don’t want to experience.

So what are some summer sock options for runners? Well first there’s the WrightSock CoolMesh II No Show Tab Socks. These are very lightweight and are great at wicking moisture away from your feet. What’s great is they contain a dual layer to help prevent blisters too. Socks that are as lightweight as this one while still being double-layered is a definite plus for the summer months. They also contain a mesh panel for breathability and a Stabilizer Zone to lock the sock in place. Cuts also available for this sock is Crew, Low Quarter, and Quarter.

Next, there’s the SmartWool Athletic Ultra Light Micro Socks. Most people associate SmartWool with skiing, but yes, they do have a wide range of running socks, and some real good ones for the summer such as the Athletic Ultra Light Micro. It contains a waffle-knit instep and flat-knit toe seam keep you comfortable throughout your summer run. SmartWool’s Fit system will give you arch and ankle support, which keeps the sock from bunching – preventing painful blisters. The sock is also highly efficient at moisture wicking to keep your feet dry.

Finally, there’s the Feetures! Light No Show Socks. This is one of most breathable socks around, keeping you comfortable no matter the distance of the run. It’s super thin, making it great for runners who prefer fast-cooling socks. The CoolFeet Ventilation System combines mesh vents, fast-drying fabrics, and snug-fitting fibers to keep your skin dry while keeping a tight fit on your feet – meaning you stay blister-free. The iWick fibers present will also wick moisture away to keep your feet cool and dry. It’s also available in the following Cuts: Crew, Mini Crew, No Show with Tab and Quarter Crew.

Next time you’re getting ready for a run with the temps in 80s or 90s – a runner’s nightmare – choose your sock wisely; it could make a huge difference in your performance.

To browse these socks and more, visit SocksAddict.com. Also, below is the hit song, Summer Runnin’, from Grease.

[Danny]
Summer runnin’ had me a blast

[Sandy]
Summer runnin’ got too hot too fast

[Danny]
I found a sock, perfect for me

[Sandy]
Wore a sock, was as cool as could be

[Both]
Winter runs driftin’ away, to uh-oh those summer runs

[Everyone]
Uh Well-a well-a well-a huh

[Thunderbirds]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Doody]
Did you run very far?

[Pink Ladies]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Marty]
Like did the socks make your feet feel like hot tar?

[Everyone]
Uh-huh uh-huh uh-huh uh-huh

[Danny]
I ran as quick as can be, I got a cramp

[Sandy]
He ran by me, at least his feet didn’t get damp

[Danny]
These socks saved my run, they didn’t let me down

[Sandy]
He showed off, the best running socks around

[Both]
Summer run, something’s begun, but uh-oh those summer blisters

[Everyone]
Uh well-a well-a well-a huh

[Pink Ladies]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Frenchy]
Was it sock love at first sight?

[Thunderbirds]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Kenickie]
Were they very light?

[Everyone]
Uh-huh-uh-huh-uh-huh-uh-huh

[Danny]
Wore the socks for a 15-miler, wasn’t afraid

[Sandy]
With these socks, he didn’t need blister kits or aid

[Danny]
I wore the socks all around the block

[Sandy]
It was a lightweight but dual-layer sock

[Both]
Summer run, it’s important, but uh-oh those summer blisters

[Everyone]
Uh well-a well-a well-a huh

[Thunderbirds]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Putzie]
But you don’t gotta brag

[Pink Ladies]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Rizzo]
Cos we all know blisters are a drag

[Everyone]
shoo-bop bop, shoo-bop bop, shoo-bop bop,shoo-bop bop, shoo-bop bop, shoo-bop bop, shoo-bop bop, YEH

[Sandy]
He got fast, ran all over the land

[Danny]
And my feet stayed comfortable the entire span

[Sandy]
They were great socks, great at wicking

[Danny]
Well they were good you know what I mean

[Everyone]
Woah!

[Both]
Summer heat, time for the track meet, but uh-oh those summer blisters

[Everyone]
woo, woo, woo

[Pink Ladies]
Tell me more, tell me more

[ Jan]
How much dough did he spend?

[Thunderbirds]
Tell me more, tell me more

[Sonny]
What are more socks he could recommend?

[Sandy]
It turned colder – that’s where it ends

[Danny]
They were the best socks ever, I told my friends

[Sandy]
Then he made a running vow

[Danny]
I’d always buy the best socks my budget would allow

[Both]
My summer socks never ripped at the seams,
bu-ut oh, those su-ummer blisters….

This entry was posted in Running, Sock Fun, Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

